Contents - Index



Save will save nearly all information relating to the problem session in an .EES or .EEZ file on the disk using the file name for which it was last saved.  The problem information can be later restored with the Open command.  Use the Save As command to save the problem information with a different name or with a different format, such as in compressed format (.EEZ). 


EES can always read files written by earlier versions.  However the converse is not true. Further, files written by the 64-version of EES cannot be read by the 32-bit version. 


An autosave file option is provided with a control in the Options tab of the Preferences dialog.  If the autosave option is selected, EES will automatically save your file at a specified time interval with the same filename used in the Save (or Save A)s command, except that a tilde (~) is prepended to the filename.  Under normal operation, the autosave file is deleted at the end of the work session, so do not depend upon it for permanent storage. You should always save any file that you intend to use at a later time using the Save or Save As commands. However, if EES quits unexpectedly, the last saved copy of the backup file should still be available.


For additional file safety, EES will first check during a file save operation to see if a file with the name provided for the Save operation already exists.  If the file does exist (and it is more recent than the backup produced by the autosave option) EES will rename this file by adding a tilde (~) to the file name.   EES will delete this backup file if the Save operation is successful.  However, if any problems are encountered during the Save operation, the backup file having a name beginning with a tilde should still be available.


A check mark will appear to the left of the word Save in the File menu if the current problem information has been saved on disk.  The current file name follows the word Save in the File menu.  Any change in the problem information will cause the check mark to disappear.